G4 Backpack

Quality
Price
Value
10 Review(s)

Availability: In stock

Product Name Price Qty
G4 Backpack Large (Black)
$105.00
G4 Backpack Medium ( Black )
$105.00
G4 Backpack Medium ( Green )

Regular Price: $105.00

Special Price: $85.00

G4 Backpack Small ( Green )

Regular Price: $105.00

Special Price: $85.00

Hip Belt W/O Pockets Large
$20.00
Hip Belt W/O Pockets Medium
$20.00

Out of stock

Hip Belt W/O Pockets Small
$20.00

Customer Reviews

10 Item(s)

per page
Awesome pack that I am proud to own Review by Mayday
Price
Value
Quality
Love love love this pack. It is light but still roomy and durable. My son also enjoys it. We have the medium and we are 5' 7" with 34" waists and the size we purchased is right on the money. I will buy another soon, (Posted on 3/25/14)
The "standard"; can't go wrong with this one but there's a few downsides Review by Gideon
Price
Value
Quality
Firs off, I'm an ultralight hiker; the GG Murmur is my main 3 season pack but I needed a winter pack that was still an ultralight pack. The G4 fits this bill and it's a simple, straightforward workhorse. You can't go wrong with this pack, however...

There are a few minor issues I have with this pack.

First of all there's no place inside the pack to secure a small stowage sack; no little loop or place to clip to. Secondly, the shoulder strap's are a bit too short. When stuffed with quilts for hammock camping I was at the full length of the shoulder straps. It's a bit different how they go to the outside bottom edge. So when the pack is full it makes it too tight/short. Weird how there's a buckle and clip on the ends of the two shoulder straps; seem odd and almost as a means of keeping the straps from pulling through the buckle. I'm a short guy using the medium size and have to figure out how to mod the shoulder straps so they're long enough when I'm wearing my winter gear.

Finally, I hate the separate waist belt pockets. The move too much and fall towards the buckle; go with out them or figure out a way of securing them to the waist belt so they don't move.

So, all in all a decent pack but I think there are much better ones out there!

Gideon

SIDE NOTE FROM GG STAFF : A velcro tab is located on the hip belt pockets that attaches into the the velcro on the belt - if attached the pocket will not slide (Posted on 2/9/14)
awesome pack Review by RobD
Price
Value
Quality
I've owned my G4 for well over 10 years and it's never let me down. It's been to the top of Kilimanjaro and 3 weeks trekking in Africa, trekking through Alaska, as well as many many backpacking trips. I've over loaded it too many times and not one ripped thread. (Posted on 12/14/13)
G4 pack FTW! Review by Frank Patriot
Quality
Price
Value
The G4 was my first ultralight pack. I switched from a 65L Sierra Designs pack to the G4, which saved me around 3lbs just on the weight of the pack itself. I was amazed that I could fit all the gear into the G4 that I could fit into the big huge SD pack. I really like the big mesh pockets that wrap around it. There is no top lid, so I really have to take care in closing the roll top correctly. You definitely want to grab a pair of GG pack liners to use, to keep your gear dry. There are small loops on the back for looping the shock cord that is included, which is so handy to have in case you want to stuff a piece of clothing in there and let it dry out as you hike. I wasn't sure how I'd like the frameless construction, but if your gear weight is reasonable, it's just fine. I cut a section of my Thermarest RidgeRest foam pad off to use as a camp seat and also, it fits inside a dedicated mesh sleeve to give the pack some shape. If you remove your sleeping bag from the stuff sack and just cram it down into your pack, it will give it some shape, too (again, use a pack liner). Also, I kinda missed all the little hip belt pockets that were on my SD pack, but fortunately, Gossamer Gear sells some hip and shoulder strap pockets that you can use to pimp out your pack. I grabbed one to keep my Sawyer min filter, headlamp and a snack into. I love my G4, and recommend it to everyone I know who doesn't have one. (Posted on 12/11/13)
Thru-hiked the AT with it Review by Overhill
Quality
Price
Value
Great value and quality. Stuffed it, fell on it, dragged it through the White mountains. It's not designed to last forever. Will buy another just like it for the PCT. (Posted on 10/21/13)
The Best Review by Sierra Pete
Price
Value
Quality
Bought this on sale some time ago. I was looking for the lightest pack that I could use for a week long trip in the Sierras. The G4 worked perfectly. I was a bit concerned about how comfortable it would be and how well it would transfer the load to my legs (vs. my shoulders), but it was as comfortable as any backpack I've used. I was also concerned about durability, but after my trip I realized that I'd much rather have a light pack than one that lasts for 20 years, and I had no problems with rips in the light fabric or even the exterior mesh. It's a great pack. (Posted on 10/3/13)
A great pack Review by OldScoutmaster
Price
Value
Quality
I originally purchased a G4 in 2002 to give to my son for Christmas in preparation for our trip the following summer to Philmont Boy Scout Ranch. I liked it so well I purchased one for myself. It's been on three 10-day hikes through Philmont along with many other trips. It's light weight, well made, but you can't abuse it by sliding it along sharp rocks, sitting it against a thorn bush, etc. I've carried up to 45 lbs in it with no problem. I'd get another one. (Posted on 8/30/13)
Best Pack Ever!!!!! Review by DEW
Price
Value
Quality
This has been my go to pack for ever! It has gone threw countless bushwacks to bag summits & hauled up walls and takes a lickin and keeps on tickin!
Excellent pack for a great price!
My wife even rocks one (Posted on 8/21/13)
This pack is the best bang for buck among ultralights Review by Joe F
Value
Quality
Price
I did a ton of research before I bought this pack. I was looking for the cheapest option that was also ultralight. This pack delivered on both of those scores admirably. I was worried that it wouldn't be durable, but so far it has held up well. It's not the most durable pack in the world, but you can't expect an ultralight pack to be super-industrial-heavy-duty. But, I've been very happy with its durability. No rips or cuts at all so far, even on the net pouch which I thought surely would rip when I stuffed Mountain Home freeze dried pouches down in there with their sharp corners. (Posted on 7/2/13)
Very functional pack,and comfortable Review by Cragdwella
Value
Quality
Price
I have used this pack on several dayhikes and a few overnight trips in the mountains of New Hampshire and Massachusetts. It is without a doubt the most comfortable pack I have ever used ! My load outs are usually 14-18 lbs. The simple ,no nonsense design is just wonderfull.I also ordered a size medium hip belt pocket that is awesome. (Posted on 12/3/12)

10 Item(s)

per page

Write Your Own Review

You're reviewing: G4 Backpack

How do you rate this product? *

  1 star 2 stars 3 stars 4 stars 5 stars
Quality
Price
Value